Learning Journal One

Step One. 

This week in class we learned that the word “literate” also meant having knowledge in a specified area, whether it may be writing, piano, or even horses. This brings us to our first assignment, which is writing a literacy narrative. Before we could start, we first had to understand what subject matter played into creating a literacy narrative. In general, literacy narratives center around how the author learned to read and write, however in this class we are going beyond just reading and writing. Instead we are going to narrate our journey in a specific area like math, dancing or a sport. Whatever it may be, the literacy narrative must incorporate a conflict and what the author learned as they overcame this conflict to become literate in their topic. From reading examples in class, we learned that some characteristics of a literacy narrative include visual details that allow the reader to feel like they are right there with the author. Also creating empathy so the reader is able to connect with the author and continue reading their story. With this, I will be able to write my own literacy narrative.

Step Two.

Writing to me was never my strong suit. It was always difficult to get everything out of my head and into a well written paper. I wouldn’t say my knowledge on grammar and punctuation was all that great either. Also it was always a struggle to find a way to start an essay and what topics to include into it. I still haven’t figured out a way to effectively map out a prewriting. Besides that, a paper is never perfect when first written. It must go through many revisions and drafts to get it to be a good paper. Even when finished with the paper, again it’ll never be perfect because different words can be used, sentences could be written in another way, more material could be added into the paper. What I hope to learn from this class is how to write better and be confident in my writing abilities.

Image result for writing isn't perfect quotesImage result for writing isn't perfect quotes

Step Four. Mapping Your Writing Process.

new-mind-map

I used a bubble map to map out my writing process. I feel that a bubble map is the most comfortable and effective way to jot down my ideas. It feels more organized as it starts with one idea and flows out to separate topics, but still connects all together. In my diagram I started out with a single bubble at the top, describing my first step in the writing process as reading the essay prompt and instructions. It then branches onto the next step of opening up a word document and writing the basic information, like name and date. Next, I would mentally think of what I should include into the essay. During that process, I would go around the house or wherever I am working and take breaks, eat, or stare at the wall hoping that something will come to mind. Once past that, I’ll start my introduction paragraph, just trying to get something down at this point. Once done, I like to go back and re-read and edit the introduction so that it lays a foundation to what I will write for the rest of the essay. With that decently perfected, I can start on my body paragraphs. Occasionally, I’d skip to the next paragraph if I get stuck on the current one I was working on and go back to it after. Once the body paragraphs are finished, I continue onto the conclusion. Before I start, I’ll re-read the whole essay, and fix things along the way. This gives me an idea of how I should write my conclusion. After finishing the whole essay, I’ll proof read, fix, add and delete. If I feel the essay could be better, but don’t know what to do, then I’ll ask someone to read it and give feedback. In Lamott’s writing I learned that even professional writers struggle with starting a paper too. She gets the same panic feeling as I do when unable start, but once you get past that and just start writing, it allows you to get your ideas down. After that you can go back and edit your paper, producing a second draft and so on until satisfied with the final product. I think I did find myself writing bad first drafts, even though I’d do my essay in parts and go back and edit before going to the next paragraph. But when looking through the whole essay, when finished, I could see more improvements that can be made.

2 thoughts on “Learning Journal One

  1. You have a very detailed writing process! It is also similar to mine because we both have writer’s block before writing an essay and edit as we go. You are right in that revisions are very important since it gives you new insight into how you could improve your writing. I, too, hope we’ll be more confident in our writing abilities at the end of this quarter.

    Like

  2. It is really cool to see that you already had an idea of what we were going to talk about on the second week of class when you talked about your first drafts. I completely understand when in your writing process you talked about taking time to just think about what to write like “staring at a blank wall”. I also agree that revisions are the key to making a better paper. The way you explained literacy helped make it clear to me what exactly she meant in class when she said it was just limited to writing and reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

