Learning Journal Six

Step Two.

This week we didn’t have class. So in place of class time, we were assigned to go out and observe an area of our choosing for our podcast project. What I learned out observing is that it isn’t just what your eyes see but also what you hear, smell, and feel too. With all these different senses, I will be able to write my podcast script as if the audience is right there with me.

From reading my classmate’s learning journal five, she mentions how observing and taking notes of everything and everyone became overwhelming. But by observing the environment first, then the people, it’d make it much simpler. Like her, if I had known this earlier, than I wouldn’t have been so overwhelmed too. So for future references, if I do go out and observe again, I’ll try what my classmate suggested first.

Step Three.

Brock Dethier makes a point that our attitude towards revision is important. Every writer dreads receiving feedback on a paper because it just means we have to look and work on that same paper again after we thought it was done. A positive attitude towards revision, it  will change our writing and enjoyment for it. We should listen to the peer reviewer’s comments with an “open ear” and not get offended by them. Dethier also describes how we shouldn’t spend out time trying to get the perfect paper the first time. Instead, we should accept that our first draft will be bad. So, by getting straight to writing, it reduces stress and minimizes time spent trying to perfect ones writing for the first draft.

Step Four. 

For my living picture narrative, I will read all the feedback given to me from my classmates and teacher. I will try not to get offended or become let down at at the critiques I receive. I will come in with a positive attitude and be open to what they’ve said about my writing. From the comments I received, I will first start by rereading my whole paper. At the same time, I will try to see my mistakes that were caught by my reviewers. After that, I will go into each paragraph one at a time to edit and revise my writing. Once going through all the paragraphs, I will reread the whole essay again, to see if I have achieved the goal in fixing my mistakes. If, some parts don’t seem like they have met the criteria then I will go and revise again.

Step Five.

Revision Plan for Living Picture Narrative

  1. Number each paragraph and summarize each paragraph with as little words as possible.
  2. Identify if some paragraphs contained more than one point, idea needs to be developed and/or see if any paragraphs were similar
  3. Remove, edit, add accordingly
  4. Reread whole essay
  5. Reflect on overall revision

 

One thought on “Learning Journal Six

  1. I like how to improve your observation by comparing the differences between your methods and your partner’s methods. It’s easy to see differences and advantages of different methods. For your revision plan, it’s completed, but I think it’s too simple for readers to understand. For example, in your step 3, you mention that you need to remove and edit. I think ti’s better to be more specific. What do you want to remove such as repetitive ideas and sentences? What do you want to edit such as thesis and conclusions?

    Like

Leave a Reply

